Book Suggestions….

I love receiving book suggestions from friends, family, and even perfect strangers. There’s great serendipity in discussing books and reading material, because you never know what suggestions you’ll here. Of course, there’s always a lot of marketing buzz with new releases and popular authors, but it’s great to revisit the classics and forgotten gems.

Here’s a list of reading suggestions from friends:

  • Midwives by Christopher Bohjalian
  • Diana Gabaldon series…latest book is “Echo in the Bones
  • The Karen Harper Elizabeth I series
  • Jasper Fforde– the Thursday Next series and  Nursery Crimes is also good.
    If you haven’t read The Eyre Affair, stop what you are doing right now and get it!
  • House and Philosophy– Various Ed by William Irwin
  • Another good one is  The Almost Moon by Alice Sebold
  • When the Emperor was Divine by Julie Otsuka
  • Sandra Dallas Books including Tall Grass and Prayers for Sale
  • C.J. Box Joe Pickett series

Help me populate this list and send me your suggestions! I’m on the ReBooWee (Read a Book a Week) plan and I need your help to get my weekly quota of a book a week. I am considering doing this all year from December 1, 2009 to January 1, 2010. Help me out folks…. post your comments or send an email to greycatblog[at]gmail.com. Thanks!
