There has been an influx of books to movie productions over the past few years (well, actually longer than just a few years) and I was curious to see a list of such titles. My interest in this was rekindled when I read that Guillermo Del Toro is directing The Hobbit in 2 parts (released in 2011, 2012). Del Toro is at the top of my favorite film producer-writer-director list. The Hobbit is one of my favorite books, along with JRR Tolkien’s other books, The Lord of The Rings trilogy, and The Silmarillion, so I couldn’t pass on being interested in the new movie version. How many of you remember that wonderful classic animation of The Hobbit (1977)? That is still one of my favorites. I remember reading the book right around the time I first saw the animation. If my memory serves me right, I had an audiobook/book adaptation of The Hobbit for young children and it was on vinyl record from the 70’s that my mom probably picked up at a garage sale. We acquired most of our books for children either from garage sales, or used our library cards to check out as many books as possible from the library each week. Since that first introduction of a book to movie production, I make it a practice to read the book first before seeing the movie. There are only a few exceptions, or if I didn’t do my homework first to realize the movie was first a book.

Being a list person, my first inclination was to make my own list of books to movies. After a quick search on Google, I found there are many lists already prepared (thank you librarians!) so all I have to do is surf! Here are a couple of the most helpful book to movie lists:

  • Based on the Book by Mid-Continent Public Library. This is a very good tool to search either the book or movie title (if different), book author, or movie release title.
  • Books into Movies by TeenReads.com. Perfect for those great teen reads – make a family field trip out of these movies. Books to read/Movies I want to see include My Sister’s Keeper (June 2009), Coraline (February 2009), and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (July 2009).
  • Top 100 Movies Based on Books by The MovieBlog.com. Lists some of those classics that make for good reading/watching when you have nothing else on your bookshelf or movie queue.
  • Best Based on Novel Titles by IMDB. This is a great list. I recently watched the first one listed, Das Boot and was thrilled, awed and shocked. This film was one of my exceptions though, and I did not read the book beforehand.

Another film I watched recently was Persepolis, based on the Marjane Satrapi’s autobiographical graphic novel and I also did not read the book first. However, this is on my list to read this summer. I was really taken by the movie and the story and I know that reading the book will be an even richer experience.

I’m also reading the best selling memoir Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert and am savoring each page and her recollections in this delightful, entertaining and educating memoir. A film based on the book will be released in the future (New York Times says that Julia Roberts has been cast).

I usually get carried away with my lists and links, so I’ll stop here. Basically, if you’re looking for a book to movie tie-in, you can find it on the net.

Happy Reading and Movie-Going!

