It’s been several weeks since I last wrote. I had a small accident in the kitchen in early January (involving a rather large chef knife, an avocado, a tired person, and some minor amounts of blood loss, plus an hour-long drive to ER, stitches, and finally the ensuing physical therapy).  So, now I am back to full speed typing and can actually record my thoughts about all the books I read while I was not fully functioning. I will try to catch up on all the books in the next few days. I’ve read some really great books in the past few weeks!

In the meantime, if you need a great book, I recommend consulting a copy of Nancy Pearl’s “Book Lust” and her sequel “More Book Lust” as well as her latest “Book Crush” for young adults. She also has a “Book Lust Journal” where you can record all the books you’ve read and your thoughts. Believe it or not, there is also a “librarian action figure” modeled after the likeness of Nancy Pearl! Check it out at http://www.nancypearl.com/. I had the opportunity to hear Nancy Pearl speak at a conference last fall. I appreciated her enthusiasm for books and her willingness to share her story of falling in love with books, and ultimately, with reading. The pleasure, enjoyment, escape, and educational opportunties within books and the written word has always astounded me, ever since I began reading at the age of 4-5. I think I read through all the Childcraft volumes by the time I was 6, I devoured all fairy tales by the age of 7, and started in on novels at age 8. I joined Great Books when I was 10 and stayed involved for 5 more years. I couldn’t put novels down by the time I was in high school. In college, I started focusing on literature and the classics. After my junior year in college, I read all the Bronte family works, and all of many other classics.

Anyway, I highly recommend consulting Nancy Pearl’s “Book Lust” series for reader’s advice. You can even just sit down and relax with the “Book Lust” series and read through as you would any literary critique or commentary. Filled with humor, advice, and of memories from those alluring works of our younger years, and with connections for our older years, you can’t go wrong with the “Book Lust” series.

Best Wishes and Happy Reading!

