I have so enjoyed my subscription to The Sun over this past year. I read every monthly issue in 1-2 sittings. I can’t put it down. Especially Reader’s Write because these are real people sharing real stories with real feeling and meaning. These really reach the heart and pull at the heartstrings! I also especially savor Sunbeams which are wonderful quotes that readers have collected and sent in to The Sun. Sunbeams are on the 2nd to last page of the publication. It’s truly like saving the best for last. I also love reading and collecting quotes so this section always has a quote that speaks to me. Here’s one from the latest issue (Dec. 2007) that really works well in my head:

“Life always gives us exactly the teacher we need at every moment. This includes every mosquito, every misfortune, every red light, every traffic jam, every obnoxious supervisor (or employee), every illness, every loss, every moment of joy or depression, every addiction, every piece of garbage, every breath.”    ~Charlotte Joko Beck

For more on Joko Beck, see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joko_Beck

This is just a lovely quote, a timely quote. One that fits in our lives at every moment whether in beauty or chaos. It feels very positive and powerful to learn from every moment of life, every butterfly that crosses our paths, every kink in the log, every meaningful event whether happy or sad.

I also just read a quote (somewhere…) that says we gain wisdom through hardships. We also gain wisdom through truth in life, through beauty, through nature, through losses and gains.

These are my thoughts on a sparkly and cold Thanksgiving Night. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

