I was breathless through most of Amy Tan’s 2005 novel, Saving Fish From Drowning. As I posted in my Favorite Reads post, Amy Tan is one of my favorite authors. I was first introduced to her in 1994 by my boss at the time and read The Kitchen God’s Wife. Soon after, I was visiting the local public library to check out everything else by Tan. Visit her website for a list of novels at http://www.amytan.net/. Saving Fish From Drowning was unique and slightly different from her other novels. Part travel-memoir, part humor, part shock-value, based on a true story and pure Tan fiction, I was on the edge of my seat for literally two hours while reading the climactic section of the story. I was reminded of Connie Willis’ novella “Inside Job” (2005) while reading Tan’s story. The story was recorded by a medium who could speak to the deceased character, of which is the main character of the story. With Tan’s characteristic Asian influences and mastery of storytelling of Chinese and Asian behaviors, traits, folklore, social standing, and family traditions, is blended with quirky American characters concerned with looks, money, fame and fortune. (At times I was reminded of characters from the movie “Best In Show” which is one of the best satires of dry, wry, sarcastic, and laugh-out-loud guffaw-enabling movies that I’ve seen). I highly recommend this novel. You’ll want to read it fast and furiously though because the ending seems so far away in this novel of 474 pages! Get through it and you’ll be rewarded with a unique story that will leave you thinking about the plot, settings, and characters for several days (or weeks!) after. Enjoy! 

