Because of my once (or more) weekly trips into the closest city, which is an hour’s drive, I rely on audio books to help make the time more useful. I feel more productive listening to audio books than just driving. It also helps me stay awake and actually more focused on the driving. However, I do not usually listen to an audio book while driving in traffic as it becomes too intense (and unsafe, at least for me) to continue listening. I usually pop in some Celtic music at that point.

Anyway, I just finished listening to Nicole Krauss’s “The History of Love.” Several people told me how much they enjoyed this book and it contains a newer sort of focus for me, historical fiction about fictional literary events.  Plus, it is a literary mystery and this proved to be compelling, especially at the end. The form of the book had a bell curve, with the bell leading longer and a soft, quiet, reflective ending. This audio book was enjoyable and was read by 3 different readers (all who did an encellent job). Character development was splendid and I wished for more about each character. I want to know what happens to Alma Singer as she gets older. What a wise teenager, sensitive and thoughtful, filled with some of the normal teenage angst, yet wise beyond her years. Leo was so real, humorous, and yet lonely. The rest of the twists and turns of the story end up so connected in a way that I never expected. Highly recommended as an audio book or the book format. You’ll not want to put it down and you’ll want more afterwards!

Here are some of my top choices for audiobooks:

  • The Devil and Miss Prym: A Novel of Temptation on audiobook read by Linda Emond
  • Ernest Hemingway’s stories of war and war-torn people: For Whom the Bell Tolls, A Farewell to Arms, and The Sun Also Rises.
  • Around the World in 80 Days by Jules Verne.
  • The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • more coming soon….
